Falling in love with a Buddhist monk

He had calm blue eyes and stubble

A whisper of a moustache too

Some grey that dotted his rotund head

A smile that called out to you

Of faraway lands and little known faith

Of peace, of war, of smiles and death

His words- titillating and yet pristine

Like ripples of water in sunshine shine.

He spoke of truth, he spoke of love

He spoke of things unknown

And yet he spoke with such candor

Unnerving and true to the soul

Clad in bare robes he seemed warm enough

While bitter winds froze my veins

But I looked at him and his beam

Was like dawn through the cold rain.

How lovely it would seem if all my life

I spent with that serene spirit

Resplendent thoughts his wisdom would lend-

Resplendent emotions elicit.

How peaceful it would seem if all my life

I could bask in his words of merit

Words- sonorous and murmuring at once

Words- like those of no poet.

 

T’was to be a day of epiphanies

For I learnt I’d fallen in love

With Buddha, his Dharma, but nay, also

A tranquil wandering soul.

But alas, life is not so kind

For he has vowed the life of a monk.

Woe betide me for I have dared

To fall in love with a Buddhist monk.

About meenavid

Pensive thinker. Jumping bean. Loud thoughts. Loudmouth. Extreme. Ordinary. Twenty and something but what the heck, still a kid. Make a happy mess everywhere- or not. Indecisive. You see? Sigh.

Make a mess

